Welcome

Facebook Updates: Changes made today

Facebook has been very busy making changes across the platform. Some of them look like an attempt to catch up to the Google+ functionality. In short, the changes replace the Check In function, tagging of friends and who sees your content.

Unfortunately the changes don’t yet extend to business pages. We’ve been waiting for location or check-in services for business pages for a long time! Hopefully that will happen soon.

Here is a summary of the changes and how to use them.

Who are you with?

Who are you with?

1. Who Are You With?

This functionality replaces the @ to tag people (although that still works). You simply click the button and start typing the name and a list of your friends will appear. You can also tag friends after the post, which is the first functionality in Facebook allowing you to make changes once posted (great step forward!)

Definition: “Use this button to tag people, to say who you’re with. You can tag anyone. When you (or others) add tags, the people tagged and their friends may see the post too. You can choose to review tags others have added to your stuff.”

Where are you?

Where are you?

2. Where are you?

This functionality replaces the old Facebook Check In – it also allows you to add a location when you are posting from a computer rather than a mobile app.

Definition: “To easily say where you are, you can add your current city or neighborhood to your posts, or add a specific place. You can turn this on or off at any time.”

Who do you want to see your post?

Who do you want to see your post?

3. Control Privacy when you post – or afterwards!

This is an attempt to catch up to the functionality of Google+ Circles – where you can decide who sees your content. You can choose it to be Public, where anyone can see it (who is connected to you – and based on your privacy settings), you can make it just your friends (and the friends of the person you tagged, if you did) or the custom option lets you select specific people to either see or not see. So now you can remove your parents or your boss and it will still be seen by your friends!

Definition: “Use this to manage who can see and comment on posts you share, including ones with location, if you add it. When you change this setting, it will stay how you set it for future posts until you change it again. Posts (including check-ins) from old mobile Facebook apps will use your new default privacy setting.
Also, we’ve changed the label for “Everyone” to “Public,” but your posts will still reach the same people.”

This can only be good for Facebook. Giving the user more control over their experience. What do you think about the changes? Let us know.